July 08, 2024, 12:27:08 PM

1,531,276 Posts in 46,729 Topics by 1,523 Members
› View the most recent posts on the forum.

Enhanced versions/remakes of games.

Started by spaceman, September 11, 2009, 09:53:58 PM

previous topic - next topic

Go Down

spaceman

I started playing Pokemon Platinum the other day, and I'm really liking it. It got me thinking about enhanced/remakes/etc versions of games that have already been released. I didn't really expect to like it that much, after how much I hated Emerald. All the small changes from Diamond are nice additions, and makes the game seem new while still keeping 95% of the things the same.

But anyways, back to the big picture. What games did you like that had better (or worse) enhanced, remakes, later ports, etc. of the original? Mass Effect did this well on PC (was so much better than the 360 version), Pokemon is pretty good at it, with 3/4 being good. Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance and Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence, I liked better than the originals. Especially MGS3, the camera was godawful in the first.

Then there's games like Resident Evil 4 and Gears of War on PC which were far better on the original platform.

Anyways, discuss.  doodthing;

C.Mongler

Quote from: fluxus on September 11, 2009, 09:53:58 PM
Then there's games like Resident Evil 4 and Gears of War on PC which were far better on the original platform.

Um, what?

spaceman

Quote from: C Mongler on September 11, 2009, 09:58:58 PM
Um, what?

Resident Evil 4 was terrible on PC. No mouse support, and the keyboard controls were cumbersome.

And Gears of War came with a new map, but the controls were clunky and overall not as good as the 360 version. One of the rare occurrences where the PC versions controls aren't as good as the consoles.

Claquesous