July 15, 2024, 12:18:11 PM

1,531,280 Posts in 46,729 Topics by 1,523 Members
› View the most recent posts on the forum.

Your musical influences.

Started by sans culottes, August 04, 2009, 10:20:22 PM

previous topic - next topic

Go Down

sans culottes

Alright, a thread for musicians and/or aspiring musicians. When you make music, who really influences you?

Right now, I am not capable of putting a band together. Well, I could easily make a shitty teenage cover band, but I think bigger than what's in my reach. So, every night I find myself strumming my guitar, looking at chords for songs that I like, and playing along. And then, I'll attempt to write a song, but I always screw up. I can write a good vocal part and write a good guitar part, but never the two together.

So, while I'm a lone musician, I look up to guys like Tom Petty and Cat Stevens. Both of these musicians wrote pretty simple songs (a lot of Petty's songs are basically D, A, and E chords) but they sound really good. My attempts at songwriting are much alike Petty's Wildflowers album.

I should mention, though, I have so far only written one complete song. However, that song is nothing more than a novelty ditty that makes fun of modern "country" pop stars. If only I could write something that isn't a joke.
I support BUSH

Samus Aran

Alternative and grunge bands, most notably The Smashing Pumpkins and Nirvana. I dunno why, I just love playing that kind of music pretty much above all else. Any original stuff I've come up with recently has been in that vein of guitar playing, if not also the lyrical content.

snorkel

Any electronic music I make falls in line with typical IDM stuff, which is just a result of my admiring the genre for years and having it in my head.