Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
February 22, 2018, 08:44:08 PM
1,514,207 Posts in 45,343 Topics by 1,072 Members
Latest Member: sharonyg69
Boyah Forums  |  General  |  Internet, Science, & Technology  |  How do I bypass my router's internet filter 0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: How do I bypass my router's internet filter  (Read 1185 times)
antmaster5000
Secret Muslim
*


DwightDL
Offline Thailand Male

Strongbad007

Posts: 17,588
Quota: 2.67%
Doodthingocity: -27
Lüts: 242440.83

Windows 7

Chrome 5.0.375.99



Ignore
« on: July 19, 2010, 12:28:32 AM »

Disclaimer: Not just for porn

Okay so a while back my dad set up this filter on the router that blocks websites with "Fuck" or "Porn" in the URL. He said he did this for my little brother but it is also hurting me. He also gets an email whenever I try and access one of these websites Sad

So like I said, this isn't just for porn. There will be a post on reddit with "Fuck" in the title, and when I go to view it, since the title will be in the url, the comments will be blocked. I have missed out on many good submissions because of this.

It has also blocked sites like pichunter.com (nsfw obviously) where I think that the blocked words are in the html or something.

But yeah is there any way around this that my dad won't be able to see? Like going through a flash based proxy (does such a thing exist?) or something? It is really annoying and even blocks shit on my Wii or anything that can access the internet pretty much.

EDIT:
Would something like this work: http://www.torproject.org/
« Last Edit: July 19, 2010, 12:34:21 AM by Strongbab » Recent Track: Someone Great - LCD Soundsystem
Logged

wag more
bark less
Khadafi
Baphomet
Director
*


Solve et Coagula
Offline Male

JMV

Posts: 69,603
Quota: 1.11%
Doodthingocity: 53
Lüts: 182072.01

Mac OS X

Safari


« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2010, 08:48:53 AM »

fuck fuck fuck fuck



I doubt it would do anything but does Google's DNS help?
Recent Track: Caved In - CunninLynguists
Logged

antmaster5000
Secret Muslim
*


DwightDL
Offline Thailand Male

Strongbad007

Posts: 17,588
Quota: 2.67%
Doodthingocity: -27
Lüts: 242440.83

Windows Vista

Chrome 5.0.375.99



Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2010, 03:37:54 PM »

fuck fuck fuck fuck



I doubt it would do anything but does Google's DNS help?

My whole family already uses Google DNS lol
Remember you got us to switch because our internet kept dying for no viable reason and it fixed it I cast a spell on you.
but yeah it wouldn't help this problem
Recent Track: Someone Great - LCD Soundsystem
Logged

wag more
bark less
Hippo
Badass Bank Manager
*


Offline

Hippo

Posts: 35
Quota: 0%
Doodthingocity: 0
Lüts: 29846.00

Windows XP

Firefox 3.6.7



Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2010, 07:17:31 PM »

What type of router do you have? If you can get into the config, you can change everything from there (Linksys = 192.168.1.1), such as security and filters.
Logged
snorkel
Guest

« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2010, 03:39:01 AM »

that would be fucking annoying

What type of router do you have? If you can get into the config, you can change everything from there (Linksys = 192.168.1.1), such as security and filters.

yeah, if it's not third party software, just find the router's admin panel. Usually 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1. User/pass is usually "admin" and nothing or "admin" and "admin" unless someone has changed yours.
Logged
⁂№₨₪⁂
Carebear
*


Offline United States Male

TheSequel

Posts: 2,965
Quota: 0%
Doodthingocity: 0
Lüts: 52840.00

Linux

Chrome 5.0.375.99



Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2010, 09:33:08 PM »

I think tor would work. But your internet would probably be slower. idk try it
Recent Track: D.R.E.A.M. (Feat. Talib Kweli) - Pharoahe Monch
Logged

Die for Dethklok
antmaster5000
Secret Muslim
*


DwightDL
Offline Thailand Male

Strongbad007

Posts: 17,588
Quota: 2.67%
Doodthingocity: -27
Lüts: 242440.83

Windows 7

Chrome 5.0.375.125



Ignore
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2010, 04:34:39 AM »

flash doesnt work with tor ;-;
Recent Track: Someone Great - LCD Soundsystem
Logged

wag more
bark less
squirrelfriend
CTR Shill
I'm a Damn Retard
*


Boyah's Insufferable Cuntrag/Neolib Shill
Offline Morocco

squirrelfriend

Posts: 6,324
Quota: 0%
Doodthingocity: 5
Lüts: 66340.00

Windows NT 10.0

Chrome 50.0.2661.94



Ignore
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2016, 01:58:08 PM »

i love how my parents trusted me to use the internet wisely and didn't filter stuff 8)
Recent Track: Blue Wine - Nao
Logged

antmaster5000
Secret Muslim
*


DwightDL
Offline Thailand Male

Strongbad007

Posts: 17,588
Quota: 2.67%
Doodthingocity: -27
Lüts: 242440.83

unknown

Chrome 49.0.2623.112



Ignore
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2016, 09:26:30 PM »

wow that shit was so goddamn annoying
when i go home it's still there too lol but my dad has two routers (upstairs and downstairs) so i just don't connect the the dumb one
Recent Track: Someone Great - LCD Soundsystem
Logged

wag more
bark less
Khadafi
Baphomet
Director
*


Solve et Coagula
Offline Male

JMV

Posts: 69,603
Quota: 1.11%
Doodthingocity: 53
Lüts: 182072.01

Windows 7

Chrome 50.0.2661.94


« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2016, 04:43:14 PM »

If it was URL or content based, I'm assuming any pages going over HTTPS wouldn't get blocked.

At the time of the OP most sites still weren't defaulting to HTTPS (poor boyay) so it'd have worked but at this point it'd be pretty useless.
Recent Track: Caved In - CunninLynguists
Logged

donʼt letʼs
Spectre of Dreams
Secret Muslim



Lowercase People
Offline United States Male

LiveOnTheEdge

Posts: 22,749
Quota: 0.44%
Doodthingocity: 15
Lüts: 9381.10

Windows NT 10.0

Firefox 46.0.1



Ignore
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2016, 08:13:17 PM »

I remember boyah's sordid past with https
Logged

SVT
fly
Secret Muslim
*


Offline New Caledonia

silvertone

Posts: 23,166
Quota: 0%
Doodthingocity: 2
Lüts: 2069.00

Windows NT 6.3

Firefox 46.0



Ignore
« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2016, 08:21:06 PM »

how to fix it?
Logged

antmaster5000
Secret Muslim
*


DwightDL
Offline Thailand Male

Strongbad007

Posts: 17,588
Quota: 2.67%
Doodthingocity: -27
Lüts: 242440.83

unknown

Chrome 49.0.2623.112



Ignore
« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2016, 11:13:33 AM »

If it was URL or content based, I'm assuming any pages going over HTTPS wouldn't get blocked.

At the time of the OP most sites still weren't defaulting to HTTPS (poor boyay) so it'd have worked but at this point it'd be pretty useless.
ill remember this the next time i want to watch porn at my parent's
Recent Track: Someone Great - LCD Soundsystem
Logged

wag more
bark less
Pages: [1]
Boyah Forums  |  General  |  Internet, Science, & Technology  |  How do I bypass my router's internet filter « previous next »
    Jump to: